God 52… Here we go!!

So, here we are.. 2013!! 2012 was one of the busiest, most stressful and beautiful years of my life, and I cannot thank God enough for how he has blessed me and per sued me over this year… If there’s one thing I’ve learnt in faith, it’s that he well and truly never gives up, and his love is completely and ultimately unfailing. WOO!! Image

January is my favourite time of year… its the time of year when  the woolly socks can come out and my house feels a lot cosier than normal.. It’s also the month of my birthday WOOOHOOO! This year, I’m turning 17 and will thus be having  driving lessons… stay off the roads.. Watch this space for my progress and  pray for my driving instructor.. The poor bloke!!

I’ve never  really believed in New Year resolutions, I always think to  myself, ‘why make a change only in a New Year? Why wait? Why not just do it when its necessary?’… So, as 2013 drew ever closer and people started talking about their new year resolutions I naturally just switched off. That was, until at Youth Church on Sunday morning, my youth pastor mentioned something about ‘God 52’, which is basically a resolution set up by a man who believed that when it came to his faith, he walked the walk, but he didn’t talk the talk. As soon as I heard that explanation, my ears pricked up. Oh how guilty I am of being a hypocrite  or having such a desire to share my faith with people without really thinking about the foundations of it… how to behave and ultimately.. how to love. In his own blog, this guy used the term ‘An irresistible resolution’. This again struck a chord with me. Of course  its irresistible… This man is challenging us to live our lives more in the way that Jesus did, and to deepen our relationships with  God in the process.. how does it get better than that?!

So far, we’re on week 2. Ultimately, this is a  challenge to think more about living out christian values in my every day life… but I don’t want this to become some kind of religious ritual. In the midst of exams, coursework, daily stresses and the need to have a sleep every once in a while, I will probably forget to do some, or not write a blog for a bit, or perhaps even forget that I’m doing it. That isn’t the aim obviously.. I don’t start with the intention to fail… however everything is determined by God, and  when its right, he will set the appropriate things on my heart! AHHHHHH so exciting. I started this whole thing late… however so far I have at least tried week one… (not too bad eh?!). For week one,  the challenge was to ‘be radically generous’. Unfortunately, I didn’t do a great job of this, however I did give some money  to a friend of mine who is  going on mission in the summer. In the  words of TESCO.. ‘every little helps’. This friend of mine is a wonderful individual who has been through a lot in the past year, and… as selfish as it sounds, to see the joy and surprise on her face  was amazing and captured my heart, reminding me that these moments are individually  crafted by  the creator of the world. Kind of a big deal huh?

Week 2 brings a second challenge which I am hoping to get absolutely stuck in with.

‘Pray persistently about one thing for three  hours this week’. 

How hard can it be?! In the past year, I’ve really developed a stronger prayer life, however as always, there is room for improvement.The guy behind God 52 wrote about how when he prays, so many things can rush into his head and he’ll start spurring off about a load of things and lose concentration and get carried away, and this is definitely something I suffer from too. How can we condense it all?! I don’t know what one thing I’ll be focusing on yet, but hopefully God will set something on my heart in due time. It could be anything I guess… Part of me is saying… why not pray for a miracle?! They’re happening  every day.

I will of course try to keep you posted. Let’s hope it goes well. And, as the genius behind this idea also wrote in his own blog, if  the consistent prayer  fails, then at least I’ve  set aside time to be in his presence and just to know him more. In the  words of Jesus Culture ‘In the glory of your presence, I find rest for my soul’…. It’s been a busy couple of  weeks, perhaps I could do with some ‘soulful rest’… We’ll see!

God bless,

Maddie x

Leave a Reply

